On Seeing Images of Unrest in the Ukraine

Oh it is far too easy to be angry,
To be young, unshrinking, and unafraid.
To march behind high banners and violent song,
And die a martyr for another’s crusade.

I watch young men, my age, breaking themselves
Like waves upon the shore, and I know
That there’s a better way to change this world:
Grow old in the halls of power, and learn the secrets kept below.

I will be that man who walks the silent corridors
Where old men send the young men out to die.
I will war with my pencil, strike with my pen,
Learn the truths that they want hid, unravel every lie.

And when I have grown old in the halls of power,
And the young men gather to bring me down,
I will look upon the world that I have wrought
And tell them, with a frown,
That this was how I changed the world: not with a bang, but a whisper.

One thought on “On Seeing Images of Unrest in the Ukraine

Leave a Reply

