On Thoughts That Grow In Absence

They say that absence makes the heart grow fonder,
And so I try to hold myself apart.
But still these rebel words begin to wander
And speak of you, for you live in my heart.

If I could, I would sing of the morning dew,
Of birdcall, and the night’s blanket of stars.
But every word I write I write for you,
For love has caged my mind behind its bars.

I cannot give you my heart in pieces –
When I choose to give I must give it whole.
So take it, take this sudden flaming thesis
That has seared itself into my soul.

Leave a Reply

