I’d always thought that drugs were something that happened to you, like a mugging or a speeding driver that couldn’t see well in the dark. The needle was in my arm and Jane was pressing down on the syringe when I realized I’d been wrong all the time. This was how you got into a drug habit – hesitantly, seductively, unfurling slowly, like a first kiss. Then my first high hit me and I wasn’t in my body anymore I was floating up towards the light the walls in my head came tumbling down like Humpty Dumpty pudding and pie Mary and her lamb and the light, the light, the light.

Leave a Reply

